Welcome to the new Aurora Theatre website! Click the X to the right to close this message. x

Aurora Wins Seven 2016 Suzi Bass Awards

The Suzi Bass Awards celebrate and promote Atlanta professional theatre through the evaluation and recognition of excellence.

Twenty-one professional theatres in Atlanta participate in the awards process. This past Monday, November 7 was the 12th annual awards ceremony held at the Porter Sanford III Performing Arts and Community Center. Aurora Theatre was recognized for excellence with an astonishing seven awards, only one behind the Tony Award-winning Alliance Theatre. Your continued passionate support of Aurora Theatre is our motivation for excellence, thank you.

2016 Suzi Awards Media Coverage

arts atl new  ajc_logo  bworld_logo  encore_atlanta_logo

2016  Suzi  Bass  Award  Winners  List


Outstanding  Production  of  a  Play
The  City  of  Conversation  –­  Horizon  Theatre

Outstanding  Direction  of  a  Play
David  de  Vries*  for  I’m  Not  Rappaport  –­  Aurora  Theatre

Outstanding  Lead  Actress  in  a  Play
Mary  Lynn  Owen*  for  Wit  –  Aurora  Theatre

Outstanding  Lead  Actor  in  a  Play
Kenny  Raskin  for  I’m  Not  Rappaport  –­  Aurora  Theatre

Outstanding  Featured  Actress  in  a  Play
Rachel  Frawley  for  The  Crucible  –  The  Shakespeare  Tavern  Playhouse

Outstanding  Featured  Actor  in  a  Play
Eric  Mendenhall*  for  One  Flew  Over  the  Cuckoo’s  Nest  –  Alliance  Theatre

Outstanding  Ensemble  of  a  Play
The  cast  of  Let  Nothing  You  Dismay  at  Stage  Door  Players
(Bryan  Brendle,  Amanda  Cucher,  Mark  Gray,  Shelly  McCook,  Doyle  Reynolds,  Gina  Rickicki,  Emily  Sams,  Ben  Silver)

Outstanding  Costume  Design  of  a  Play
DeeDee  Chmielewski  for  The  Revolutionists  –  7  Stages

Outstanding  Lighting  Design  of  a  Play
Michael  Gend  for  A  Steady  Rain  –  Alliance  Theatre

Outstanding  Scenic  Design  of  a  Play
Isabel  A.  &  Moriah  Curley-­Clay  for  I’m  Not  Rappaport  –­  Aurora  Theatre

Outstanding  Sound  Design  of  a  Play
Elisheba  Ittoop  for  Ethel  –  Alliance  Theatre


Outstanding  Production  of  a  Musical
Miss  Saigon  –  Serenbe  Playhouse

Outstanding  Director  of  a  Musical
Brian  Clowdus  for  Miss  Saigon  –  Serenbe  Playhouse

Outstanding  Musical  Direction
Chris  Brent  Davis  for  Miss  Saigon  –  Serenbe  Playhouse

Outstanding  Choreography
Ricardo  Aponte  for  In  the  Heights  –  Aurora  Theatre  &  Theatrical  Outfit

Outstanding  Lead  Actress  in  a  Musical
Niki  Badua  for  Miss  Saigon  –  Serenbe  Playhouse

Outstanding  Lead  Actor  in  a  Musical
Kevin  Harry  for  Sweeney  Todd  –  Actor’s  Express

Outstanding  Featured  Actress  in  a  Musical
Leslie  Bellair  for  The  Toxic  Avenger  –  Horizon  Theatre

Outstanding  Featured  Actor  in  a  Musical
Chase  Peacock*  for  Miss  Saigon  –  Serenbe  Playhouse

Outstanding  Costume  Design  of  a  Musical
Isabel  Curley-­Clay  and  Moriah  Curley-­Clay  for  The  Toxic  Avenger  –  Horizon  Theatre

Outstanding  Lighting  Design  of  a  Musical
Maria  Cristina  Fusté  for  In  the  Heights  –­  Aurora  Theatre  &  Theatrical  Outfit

Outstanding  Scenic  Design  of  a  Musical
Shannon  Robert  for  In  the  Heights  -­  Aurora  Theatre  &  Theatrical  Outfit

Outstanding  Sound  Design  of  a  Musical
Adam  Howarth  for  Miss  Saigon  –  Serenbe  Playhouse

Outstanding  World  Premiere  Production
Let  Nothing  You  Dismay,  by  Topher  Payne,  presented  at  Stage  Door  Players